1994

The German Musical Instrument Price for the Walter Bassoon 1994

Among the competitors for the 1994 German musical instrument prize in the woodwind Instrument group, there were 5 German bassoon producers, participating with 1 instrument respectively.

The bassoon test series started with an objective test method, eliminating the layers influence on the instrumentlayers influence on the instrument.

The summarized objective testing results were rated 35% in the subsequent overall classification. Secondly, the workmanship of the bassoons was assessed by an expert in this field. The number of points acquired in the workmanship examination covered 20% of the overall final evaluation. The remaining 45% of the total evaluation comprise subjective test results, worked out by five famous musicians (Prof. Klaus Thunemann/ Hannover; Thomas Starke /Hamburg; Uwe Grothaus/ Hannover; Carsten Wilkening/ Frankfurt; Thomas Held/ Hannover). These tests were carried out in individual sessions in the PTB studios. At the beginning of the test, every musician had enough time to get used to the instrument and could try out different tube and s-bow combinations, while he was allowed to use his private set of s-bows. After the ideal combination had been found for a particular bassoon, the musician had to answer questions concerning sound, balance, response, intonation, sonority, dynamics, mech. performance etc. This test period was marked by considerably darkened room, i.e. only the music stand, with the test paper to be filled out, was visible; the instrument to be tested was, however, not distinguishable. This procedure was considered necessary to eliminate the possibility that the mere appearance, the identification of a particular brand of type of instrument could influence the player and his evaluation of the instrument.

With questions concerning the sound and technical characteristics answered, the studio lights were switched on. Then, the producer-stated peculiarities and the sales price of the instrument were read aloud. The last question in the test-paper served to judge these peculiarities as well as the fairness of price, i.e. the price-performance ratio.

In this subjective test with bassoon-players, your instrument was rated at 64.12 of 100 points; therefore it ranks foremost among all competing instruments. Rank 1 in: tone colour, balance, response, intonation, sonority and dynamics, mech. performance, appearance and fairness of price. Summing-up the results the Walter bassoon was rated at 95,55 of 100 points and was ranked on the first place.

Successful German Musical Instrument Price 1994 makes us very happy!

Some comments of the musicians speak for themselves:

  • beautiful tone colour, eminently in the low register
  • good response, playable without problems
  • comfortable small E-key
  • excellent price for this high quality Instrument

1994

Der Deutsche Musikinstrumentenpreis für das Walter Fagott 1994

An dem Wettbewerb des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft beteiligen sich in der Familie Holzblasinstrumente fünf deutsche Hersteller mit je einem Fagott.

Im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs mußten die Fagotte eine dreiteilige Prüfung in der Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt (PTB) durchlaufen. Zunächst wurden die Instrumente objektiv, d.h. ohne Spielereinfluß, untersucht.

Das Ergebnis der Computeranalyse mit Hilfe von Impedanz Messungen ging mit 35% in die Gesamtbewertung ein. Die anschließende Beurteilung der handwerklichen Verarbeitung durch einen Sachverständigen trug mit 20% zum Ergebnis bei. Besonders überzeugend für WALTER fiel der subjektive Test (45% Ergebnisanteil) mit fünf namhaften Musikern aus. In Einzelsitzungen bewerteten Prof. Klaus Thunemann, Thomas Starke, Uwe Grothaus, Carsten Wilkening und Thomas Held die klanglichen und spieltechnischen Eigenschaften. Diese Tests wurden in Einzelsitzungen im Studio der PTB durchgeführt. Zuerst konnte sich der Musiker so lange wie von ihm für notwendig erachtet auf einem Instrument einblasen und verschiedene Rohre- und S-Bogen-Kombinationen ausprobieren, wobei auch eigene S-Bögen benutzt werden durften. Nachdem die für das jeweilige Fagott optimale Kombination gefunden war, mussten vom Spieler Fragen zu Klang, Ausgeglichenheit, Ansprache, Intonation, Klangfülle und Dynamik, Spielbarkeit (Mechanik) usw. beantworte werde. Während dieser ganzen Zeit war der Raum stark abgedunkelt, d.h. es war nur das Notenpult mit dem unausgefüllten Fragebogen erkennbar, nicht aber das zu testende Instrument. Diese Maßnahme sollte eine Beeinflussung der Spieler durch das äußere Erscheinungsbild des Fagottes oder des Erkennen bestimmter Fabrikate und Instrumententypen verhindern.

Nach den Fragen zu den klanglichen und spieltechnischen Eigenschaften wurde das Raumlicht im Studio eingeschaltet. Es wurden dann die vom Hersteller angegebenen Besonderheiten des Instruments sowie der Verkaufspreis verlesen. In der letzten Frage wurden diese Besonderheiten sowie die Preiswürdigkeit, also das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis, beurteilt.

Bei diesen subjektiven Tests mit Fagottisten kam Ihr Instrument mit 64,12 von 100 Punkten mit großem Abstand zu den anderen auf den ersten Rang. Rang 1 in: Klangfarbe, Ausgeglichenheit, Ansprache, Intonation, Klangfülle und Dynamik, Spielbarkeit (Mechanik), äußere Erscheinung und Preiswürdigkeit. Die Zusammenfassung aller Einzelbewertungen erbrachte für das WALTER-Fagott 95,55 von 100 möglichen Punkten und somit mit Abstand den 1. Rang.

Der Erfolg beim Deutschen Musikinstrumentenpreis 1994 stimmt uns alle glücklich.

Die Bemerkungen der Musiker während des Tests sprechen für sich:

  • Sehr schöne Klangfarbe, ganz besonders in der Tiefe
  • Gute Ansprache, spielt sich unproblematisch
  • schmaler E-Deckel gefällt gut
  • ausgezeichneter Preis für ein Instrument dieser Qualität